Home > Poetry > war of wills

war of wills


She stares at me
surreptitiously
when she thinks
I’m unaware
but she forgets
my peripheral
vision is
impervious to
her glare

I know she wishes
she was a witch
possessing powers
of persuasion
and subliminal
suggestion
and able to
project her
desires through
the ether and
place them in
my mind

With nonchalance
apparent I turn
my head and catch
her eye
she smiles first
(the guilty
always do)
and I say nothing
for I’ve won this
battle
but it’s only
the start of
the war.

< < > >

  1. Jo Cooper
    December 4, 2011 at 22:34

    You know she will win in the end :)) x

  2. December 5, 2011 at 00:05
  3. December 5, 2011 at 02:44

    she wish she were a witch?

    a lovely proposition,

    Thanks for sharing.

  4. Kay Salady
    December 5, 2011 at 11:50

    Ha-ha-ha! How lovely! 🙂

  5. December 5, 2011 at 17:43

    Good reading, tight structure flows well and it made me smile

  6. December 5, 2011 at 19:46

    Had I not saw the pooch first, I would have sworn the battle was with a feline. Delightful.

  7. December 5, 2011 at 20:23

    you’ve won this battle…just what she wants you to believe.

  8. December 5, 2011 at 21:35

    sweet read! this is my first time here … found you through gooseberry! and happy I did too! I am following! 🙂

  9. December 6, 2011 at 22:23

    Thanks to all for your comments.. glad its been so well received 🙂

  10. December 7, 2011 at 00:48

    aww i love this poem xx

  11. December 8, 2011 at 01:28

    Sweet little piece and what a mug on that pup too. An enjoyable read.

  12. December 8, 2011 at 02:30

    Rhythmically fantastic and super enjoyable.

  13. December 9, 2011 at 22:58

    I’ve come across your site via the ‘Leave a comment’ thread on the forum, and I’m so glad I have! Loved the poem and the picture is just too cute for words 🙂

  14. February 6, 2012 at 12:42

    Haha! absolutely fabulous! Cross-species transthoughtmodicationpoetry!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

