Home > Poetry > Eternity In England

Eternity In England

Excelsior!  I shall cry!  Uttered at the last.
What for?  The question, I’ll no doubt be asked.
For England!  I’ll say, my heartfelt reply.
My England! The place I want to die!

 For when I depart
this glorious isle,
I shall still my heart
and die with a smile.

For though I die and leave behind
loved ones in my wake,
memories of England will ever find
my spirit at another daybreak.

Because of all I’ve learned
about this country sublime,
I WILL be returned
time after time.

 Excelsior!  Of England, will be said.
Encore! To England again!  Once this me is dead.
For I will live another role
in this wondrous, hallowed place:
Same joyous, English soul;
different happy face!

<<   >>

  1. July 18, 2011 at 23:20

    A man and his country, long live the Queen!

  2. July 19, 2011 at 01:20

    best wishes for all.
    what a royal and lovely topic.

  3. July 19, 2011 at 02:05

    I’ve never made it there but hope to someday before I shuffle off this mortal coil. 🙂 This was a fine tribute to what seems like a wonderful place!

  4. July 19, 2011 at 02:07

    Eternity in England…lovely!

  5. July 19, 2011 at 02:43

    Cool, dude. I like the sentiment.

  6. July 19, 2011 at 16:46

    Wonderful tribute to your beloved England. Well written!

  7. July 21, 2011 at 18:52

    This is an awesome tribute and there’s something about it that takes me back to another time period

  8. August 8, 2011 at 12:43

    You love Englad as I love it. I was born there and grew up there and lived there until 2001.
    I did 4 years in the army voluntarily, I love it’s history, it’s pomp and pagentry and I always sing its praises over here. Many in Canada still enjoy having the Queen as thier monarch but, the Royals are never mentioned on TV and in the news here anywhere near as much as they are over there.
    The only thing that used to pee me off was when they started saying you couldn’t fly your flag because it’s racist, yet they make a huge fuss of St. Patricks day and Burns night etc Well, both here and the US most homes fly their flags. It’s crazy to not allow it. A great read from you on a good subject.
    Thanks for visitng me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

