Home > Poetry > during nocturnal canine ablutions

during nocturnal canine ablutions


the cool of dark
is welcome
and calm
I gaze upward
into eternity
my awe intense
and oblivion
stares back
at me in all my
insignificance

as scents
and sounds
scintillate
my senses
I stand in
statuesque
solitude
miniscule
under the
milky way

a light blinks
steadily and
glides silently
across the
ebon sky
unaware
of my gaze

a moth
flutters by
franticly
foraging for
light
I feel
its fleeting
flight
and accept
my relative
ephemeralness

in the
distance
a constant
rumble of
traffic in
droning
motion
provides
a bass line
backing
to the
moans of
lovers
coming
carried
through
an open
window

and nearer
muted voices
moan of
trivialities
as the
stench of
cigarette
smoke
assaults my
nostrils

at last
the dog
completes
her ablutions
and I retreat
indoors to
become
once more
significant

 

<<   >>

  1. July 13, 2011 at 14:31

    Awesome! What a vivid picture you paint with your words. For whatever reason, I felt as if I were watching an old black and white film. Fantastic poem!

  2. Leo
    July 13, 2011 at 16:21

    I felt like I was under a night sky somehow 🙂 Beautiful poetry.

    My poem ~ A Poetic World

  3. July 13, 2011 at 21:02

    wow, powerful,
    your words touch and speak profoundly.

  4. July 13, 2011 at 22:10

    Fabulous! I know, we feel so small at times. Thanks for the walk. : )

  5. July 13, 2011 at 22:26

    Fantastic image…both photographic and poetic. Looking at the Universe puts things in perspective.

  6. July 14, 2011 at 03:00

    I like how you carry your reader from the immense to the ordinary. Cool journey of awe.

  7. July 14, 2011 at 03:11

    I like this…I can almost hear the sounds of the night…
    Rosie

  8. Lyn
    July 14, 2011 at 12:55

    Your observations are so astute…wonderful details…an ending for all the survivors out there!!Thanks…

  9. July 14, 2011 at 16:55

    The last stanza reminded me of a scene in the movie Shawshank Redemption….
    Anyways, this was a wonderful poem with alot of insight. Thank you for sharing it.

    • July 14, 2011 at 21:05

      The last stanza reminded me of a scene in the movie Shawshank Redemption….

      Hey glad you like it 🙂 You got me all curious with yur comment tho.. I love that film but I’ve been racking my brains trying to figure which scene you refer to…please put me out of my misery 🙂

      • Mandy Calvin
        July 14, 2011 at 22:17

        It’s after the old book keeper leaves the prison and commits suicide. Morgan Freeman’s character talks to the other inmates about how prison grows on you after so long, they all think he’s crazy for saying that. Freeman continues to explain about how after years inside the prison you start to become somebody, you matter. But if you ever get backout into the real world, by the time you’ve been in there as long as the book keeper, you’re a nobody.

      • July 14, 2011 at 23:04

        *lightbulb goes on* haha…thanks!! I see it now and understand the connection..I know exactly which scene you mean. What a random link for you to make though! Have you just recently watched the film or is it one that like me, you have watched several times?

  10. Mandy Calvin
    July 14, 2011 at 23:42

    I’ve seen the movie several times, so much so that I have the soundtract which i listened to the other day. I guess I did have the movie on the brain. Haha.

  11. July 15, 2011 at 12:06

    Wow, you’ve managed to capture a real life moment in the most intensely beautiful and amazing way. I loved it!

  12. July 15, 2011 at 16:16

    great title, i liked the form, kind of like a trail of thought, or a “stream”, thanks for writing

  13. Jaan Pehchaan
    July 16, 2011 at 16:38

    Solitary, Scintillating, Statuesque, foraging and fluttering under the milky way!

  14. July 17, 2011 at 10:57

    Love your words…

  15. July 18, 2011 at 06:29

    Enjoyed your poem. Are we not but the moth?
    -William Leed-

    • July 18, 2011 at 18:47

      We do at times possess certain lepidopteran qualities 🙂

  16. July 18, 2011 at 18:03

    Absolutely adored abundant alliteration!

  17. July 19, 2011 at 02:45

    I like the flow and the style. Very cool!

  18. December 5, 2011 at 03:04

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. This poem is awesome and the photo goes with it perfectly. If you are interested in having a poem featured, pick one and I would love to feature it on Poetic License for January.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

