Home > All Things Musical, Poetry > tragedy on a tuesday

tragedy on a tuesday

another jet screams overhead
its trail through the cirrus
like the cum of a god
its invasive roar drowns
everything in close proximity
but soon it’s gone

neighbours talk excitedly
in foreign tongues
perhaps they complain
about the jets
or praise the glorious
weather but above
their conversation
I can hear their stereo
playing the fucking
Bee Gees

it’s a tragedy
but my luck is in
here cums another jet

<< >>

  1. May 4, 2011 at 01:34

    I’m not sure if you are in Africa or out of Africa, what I know is that jet trails (and screams) are a rarity around here compared to what I usually witness in Europe. I hate them because of photography, but I can understand your situation… Sometimes bad things become our allies. Descriptive and funny…

  2. May 4, 2011 at 02:54

    Man that is rough, the Bee Gees, really well, they stink on ice. That is a tragedy. I guess the song that was playing was the Bee Gee’s “Tragedy”. Very funny.

  3. May 4, 2011 at 03:18

    First time on your blog. I love the power of your words. You paint tragedy and I get all jittery. Great stuff.

  4. May 4, 2011 at 03:23

    This is so funny and clever! Only a poet would think of jetstream as that which carries little sperms of the Gods, much as the jet carries fully developed humans. So when we get on our planes and take off in flight, does that mean we are all just one giant orgasm? The next time I feel nervous about flying, I will think of your poem; it will make me smile, laugh, sit back and enjoy the ride. Thank you!
    P.S. I love the Bee Gees – I guess that dates me, eh? 🙂

  5. June 10, 2011 at 19:33

    As Poets United reaches its first anniversary this coming week we want to thank you for your support. Over the past year we have grown to 250 members plus and are steadily growing.

    Poets United is proud to have you as one of our members and look forward to another successful year.

    Your imagination, creativity and willingness to share with us is what makes our community such a wonderful place. Thank you for beautiful poetry and thank you for being a part of Poets United.

    Poets United

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

