Home > All Things Musical > new love

new love

my affair with Stella
is drawing to a close
I think it was over
the day I met Izzy

but like all first loves
I shall never forget
how I caressed her frets
in the throes of passion

making her squeal in pain
for my touch was too much
and so my love for her
must stay unrequited

Izzy is different
she understands my needs
and we talk together
striking chord after chord

she comes better equipped
to make music with me
and is more experienced
than her predecessor

there’s something else I like
about my new affair…
Izzy, it would appear,
has a lovely sister…

<< >>

if you are a seasoned visitor to Words Asunder you will have no doubt read of My Affair With Lady Stella, but if you are a new visitor to these pages then please see here to read it and be enlightened 🙂

  1. May 2, 2011 at 17:15

    bless the new passion.
    lovely delivery.

    A++
    😉

  2. May 2, 2011 at 20:05

    Love ’em and leave ’em is very rock and roll. Be careful, next you’ll be writing about unrequited love and maxed credit cards. 😀

  3. May 2, 2011 at 22:47

    Clever poem. I do love rock and roll. Odes to guitars are not new to me and I totally understand a love affair with an instrument. I keep two houses just so I can keep my grand piano. Clearly you chose not to use iambic pentameter here; but the bulk of the poem is iambic with more than a few anapests and it is rhymed. I would say it meets some people’s definition of blank verse. The poem is moreover, outstanding.

  4. May 3, 2011 at 04:33

    New passions blossom on the verge of deeper meanings…

  5. May 3, 2011 at 06:14

    the love we have of our instrments are beyond compare

  6. May 4, 2011 at 00:58

    Every love brings in new beautiful melodies.
    Welcome new love.
    Thank you for the link on Stella’s first day.

  7. May 4, 2011 at 01:21

    Now I have this curiosity to ask a few players the name of their guitars… Interesting personification!

  8. May 4, 2011 at 02:58

    You are so fickle. Cool poem.

  9. May 5, 2011 at 02:15

    Your a Poet and didn’t know it……

  10. May 7, 2011 at 16:50

    Love the names of your loves.
    Keep on strumming!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

