Home > Poetry > confused lepidoptera

confused lepidoptera

my aquatic exertions are complete
and my body toweled dry
I leave the cloying atmosphere
and venture under starlit sky
as dark night washes over me
in a way no waters flush
a prickling rush of perspiration
cools me with a pleasant touch

high above, lepidopteran beacons
blind my nocturnal sight
if there are fluttering visitations
I cannot see them for the light
then I ponder of the bulb that falters
a spluttering staccato in silence
are the moths that gravitate there
confused by its sporadic guidance?

<<  >>

  1. April 21, 2011 at 01:20

    ha…some fabulous word play to capture a simple moment…so nicely done…

  2. April 21, 2011 at 04:47

    That’s a good question…cool piece.

  3. April 21, 2011 at 19:38

    Oh, beautiful wordplay here, and I think I might need to add to my dictionary by the next One Shot 🙂

    My Post Is Here

  4. April 21, 2011 at 23:23

    Oh moths, and moths, and trajectories of loss. And light!

    When the moths sing it’s time for all the pumpkins to ripen.

    Thanks for inspiring those two sudden liens from me!!! 🙂

  5. April 22, 2011 at 02:12

    I really like the style of this poem. Great rhymes too by the way. It flows nicely.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

