Home > Poetry > the messenger

the messenger

no candles flickered
and wafts of incense
were not required
in the small bedroom
with makeshift table
and two padded chairs

she was soft spoken
when she greeted me
bidding me to sit
and asked me to pass
something personal
I gave her my ring

we had never met
but she knew the things
that are my essence
like only I know
from a single touch
and I was convinced

I shuffled the pack
she dealt them face up
explaining each card
there was much she told
that has since come true
the cards never lie

I rose with goodbye
ready on my lips
wait there’s more she said
standing by the door
there is someone here
who knows and loves you

he says not to worry
you’re doing just great
I was dumbfounded
unsure who spoke ‘til
she held her wrist and
said you have his watch

she could not have known
such a random fact
that in my keeping
I proudly possess
the strapless wristwatch
of my granddad Frank

<<  >>

  1. April 4, 2011 at 23:48

    WOW, THAT WAS BOTH AWESOME AND HEART TOUCHING. YOU DEFINITELY HAVE A GIFT. PLEASE DO NOT EVER GIVE IT UP.

    MARANTHA JENELLE

  2. April 4, 2011 at 23:59

    I like the image very much and the story from the poem. Cool!

  3. Emily Jane
    April 5, 2011 at 00:08

    Oooo nice twist at the end. Lovely story. Was sweet, but still managed to give me chills. 🙂

  4. April 5, 2011 at 02:23

    That was really powerful. I always wonder about card readers and fortune teller, not really wanting to know the future. This was really well done.

  5. April 5, 2011 at 02:38

    beautiful…

    A++

  6. April 5, 2011 at 12:30

    Good story here, and I am always am ready to believe these things. My wife can read palms, but I’ve never let her read mine – she’s too darned accurate!

  7. April 5, 2011 at 13:01

    You evoked a great deal of atmosphere in this piece..a tender read..Jae

  8. April 5, 2011 at 13:46

    Amazingly told .. sweet yet chilling 🙂

  9. April 5, 2011 at 18:37

    What a great story–I love it. I do believe our loved ones who have passed are sometimes nearby wanting us to know they are OK and that we are too.

  10. April 5, 2011 at 21:24

    What a gift to receive a message like that.

  11. April 6, 2011 at 04:10

    You have to watch those card readers. Sometimes they tell the truth. Good poem.

  12. April 6, 2011 at 05:11

    Cool story and great image!

  13. April 6, 2011 at 05:32

    Evocative and kinda spooky! I agree with Bodhirose that our loved ones are near, and I also believe that, for all the charlatans out there, some are truly blessed with the gift of being sensitive to the souls nearby. Lovely story!

    Here’s my latest, if you want a gander, not on a prompt:
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/black-history-month/

    Peace, Amy

  14. April 6, 2011 at 05:36

    loved it
    brother
    loved it
    a fine prose poem

    power
    to
    the poet

    esteban

  15. April 9, 2011 at 17:41

    Some do have “The Shining” and I fully believe in them.

    Both my grand-dads died before I was ever born, but I like to think of them smiling down at me and saying I’m doing just fine too.

    Thanks, Andy!

    Well, gotta go swim to the pub… 🙂

  16. April 9, 2011 at 19:12

    Kept the suspense till the end! Nicely written. Touching 🙂

  17. April 10, 2011 at 16:44

    Was it an encounter with a forutune teller..?? Hehe… awsome write..!!

  18. April 10, 2011 at 20:38

    Just wanted to thank everyone for their positive feedback and comments on this poem..really glad that it was enjoyed by so many 🙂

  19. May 3, 2011 at 23:44

    beautiful work, Bravo!

  20. May 5, 2011 at 18:12

    Emotionally beautiful, and beautifully written, thanks!

  21. jackjericho
    June 12, 2011 at 22:38

    Simply outstanding! Goodness, I love this so much.

  1. April 14, 2011 at 21:01

Leave a Reply

