Home > Poetry > A Jedi Moment

A Jedi Moment

with hindsight I sense
I was maybe distracted
by that alka-seltzer like
friday euphoria feeling
which increased in its
crescendo as the day
gradually dissolved
towards the
weekend

my mood was abstracted
by a curious ambiance
that lingered in the air
the same way a pair of
old reeboks dangle from
an overhead phone wire
dancing and gyrating
unseen and unnoticed
unless looked
for

the need for sustenance
soon became paramount
once we were ensconced
in our comfortable abode
and dog-eared takeaway
menus were extracted
from the jaws of the
wild reebok hiding
in the kitchen junk
drawer

with much expedience
our choice was redacted
and relayed by telephony
to a disembodied waitress
who promised me our meal
would arrive in a half hour
which was ample time for
a few beers to re-hydrate
the dormant
force

hunger pangs were immense
when I answered the door
to a guy in a baseball cap
and the obligatory reeboks
clutching our food and smiling
eleven pound thirty one please
I gave him a crumpled twenty
and possibly gesticulated
something subliminal when
I suggested he called it
twelve

the force breached his defense
and stole his power to subtract
when from one pocket he took
two quid and from the other
he produced a tenner and
handed it all over to me
and in that one single
speechless moment
I was a Jedi
warrior

<< >>

  1. April 1, 2011 at 00:57

    Hehehehe, I am not familiar with the monetary denominational value but I get the gist that the delivery guy gave him more money back than he had said the food was worth to begin with, leaving the person who ordered the food feeling like someone with super powers!

    Cute!

    marantha

  2. April 1, 2011 at 01:01

    Hey, I just noticed your “pull up a chair and chat with me” thing at the top. If you really would like someone to chat with, email me at my auxiliary address of words2ponder@gmail.com and I will give you my primary address. Only thing is, you have to be on yahoo messenger so you can send a request.

    marantha

  3. Elaine
    April 6, 2011 at 00:17

    Lots to like about this. My favourite is the Alka-seltzer/day dissolving. Cool!!!

  4. April 6, 2011 at 00:41

    Stealing his power to subtract attributed to Jedi skill…. love it. Nice write, especially like the rhythm of the piece.

  5. April 6, 2011 at 03:41

    ha you are a jedi and that is the most eloquent order of food for delivery i have ever read…

  6. April 6, 2011 at 08:07

    this is terrific– really carefully crafted, original– nice to encounter you here. xj

  7. April 6, 2011 at 19:03

    Great title, great description of Friday slowly dissolving into the Alka-Seltzer fizzing of the approaching weekend.

  8. April 6, 2011 at 19:52

    There’s one born every minute! LOL

  9. July 3, 2011 at 13:41

    The force is strong with this one

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

