Home > Poetry > around the world in a few swims

around the world in a few swims

I’ve set myself a target
to swim around the world,
length by length I’ll do it
just you wait and see…
let me work out now
how far I’ve got to date..
if I average out the lengths
to, lets just say, ten a day
and to date I’ve been
hmm hold on while I think..
ok maybe ten times it seems
then by my reckoning
I’ve probably swum
about as far as tesco’s
by now and to tell
the truth I’m
totally
knackered
and I might just
turn around
and come back..
but…
if I’ve calculated
correctly…
it’s only another
two swims after
tesco’s until the pub
and if I can make it
there
I can make it
anywhere
and the world
might just be
in my
reach.

<< >>

  1. March 30, 2011 at 00:19

    Hey, that was pretty cool! And by your reference to “Tesco’s” and the use of the word “pub” one would be led to assume you are in the UK. I have a writer friend who lives there. She says it totally rocks!

    cheerio!

  2. sparrowsong
    March 30, 2011 at 00:26

    Hahaha. If you can make it to a pub, you can make it anywhere? That’s too funny. 😀

  3. March 30, 2011 at 03:06

    fabulous thoughts…
    best wishes.

    A++

  4. March 30, 2011 at 10:48

    It wos going to Tesco’s wot did it!

  5. March 30, 2011 at 10:49

    Forgot to add: great post!

  6. March 30, 2011 at 23:18

    I’ve been in tescos!!

    Ah yes, the pub and what lies within changes all indeed. 🙂

    LOVE pubs! And awesome poetry, like this.

  7. April 7, 2011 at 00:00

    good luck !

  8. May 5, 2011 at 00:38

    Lovely. There is a lot going on here, and it’s all good.

  1. April 20, 2011 at 16:54

Leave a Reply

