Home > All Things Musical, Poetry > bad lipreader

bad lipreader

me, listening to pink floyds muse*
playing through my comfy cans

you, recumbent alone over there
watching a soap I dislike on tv

you, waving for my attention and
mouthing words that seem in sync

me, reading the motion of your lips
as you say, I wish you could hear

<< >>

* Pink Floyds album entitled ‘Wish You Were Here’ to be precise

  1. dan
    March 3, 2011 at 15:08

    Listening to your own world of Pink Floyd or dub music is special. Put up a “Please don’t disturb” sign while she’s in her world of soaps.

  2. March 3, 2011 at 16:55

    well done piece…

    welcome and thanks for joining poets rally.

  3. blackglassmoon
    March 3, 2011 at 17:22

    playing through my comfy cans – love this line

  4. March 3, 2011 at 19:17

    I wish you could hear! Nice play on words. And a lovely poem. Thank you.

  5. March 4, 2011 at 01:00

    Excellent poem.
    Some rather clever wordplay too.
    Nice one

  6. March 4, 2011 at 04:03

    Like it! πŸ™‚

  7. March 4, 2011 at 04:18

    clever, I so love Pink Floyd ! Nice twist on the words !!

  8. March 4, 2011 at 06:39

    Good stuff! I can see the shaft of light cutting the painting in half…Edward Hopper style. Something hyper-real in it…motion frozen. Reminds me of this; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Office_At_Night.JPG

  9. Scent of my heart
    March 4, 2011 at 14:22

    That is so familiar a scene :), I’ve been there, in front of the TV …
    Certainly enjoyable read, as always when I visit!

  10. Ashley
    March 4, 2011 at 15:15

    This reminds me of my husband and I. He, the one with the headphones and me, always trying to make him hear me. πŸ™‚

  11. March 4, 2011 at 19:54

    I really love the scene you so skilfully painted here. Nice writing!

  12. March 4, 2011 at 20:41

    Well, it IS really nice, and the way you have left the last line without any completion mark or a full stop reflects the thoughts directly. Smart! πŸ˜‰

  13. March 4, 2011 at 21:37

    Every thing about this poem is attractive… the imagery, the synchrony, the sparsity. Well done.

  14. March 4, 2011 at 22:10

    strong picture – well done!

  15. March 5, 2011 at 11:58

    very beautiful πŸ™‚

    My Poets Rally 39 Poetry

  16. March 5, 2011 at 14:02

    Well, it’s sad how people sometimes part. Occupied with their own entertainment they forget about the needs of their beloved ones… Good stuff! Thanks for stopping by mine too πŸ˜‰

  17. March 6, 2011 at 09:11

    good descriptions here .. could see the scene of action clearly

  18. March 6, 2011 at 18:20

    Thanks for sharing this piece–it’s one of my favorites from this rally. “Comfy cans” is such an apt phrase–is “cans” a common term or one of your own coining?

    • March 6, 2011 at 18:44

      Hi Julie, so glad you like it πŸ™‚
      As far as I’m aware ‘cans’ is fairly common slang for headphones..it’s one I have come across a few times anyway. I wish I had coined it though πŸ™‚

  19. March 7, 2011 at 00:14

    Well done…I like this…and been there.

  20. March 7, 2011 at 03:29

    A very well painted picture, here.

    Also, something I’m sure most people in relationships can relate to: The magic of being together but not together.

    Keep it up!

  21. Elaine Spall
    March 7, 2011 at 04:36

    Great poem…I really enjoyed it!

  22. March 7, 2011 at 23:36

    Very good poem! Liked the wordplay,too.

  23. March 8, 2011 at 05:33

    Ha. You captured a distinct moment in time! I think I’ve been there!! Love it!

  24. March 9, 2011 at 04:58

    you have totaly frozen the moment and putting it in to words have turned it in to something one of kind and beautiful. truly injoyed it:)

  25. March 10, 2011 at 02:54

    Found myself relating to this.

    Excellent poem.

  26. April 10, 2011 at 20:36

    Thank you everyone for your comments on this poem…I was amazed at how well received it was and the feedback has been greatly appreciated πŸ™‚

  27. December 20, 2011 at 15:03

    Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have been part of poets rally in the year of 2011,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rally today if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

  28. cinnamon blues
    August 8, 2012 at 17:16

    Evocative poem, enjoyed reading πŸ™‚

  29. August 12, 2012 at 04:15

    Witty. An odd juxtaposition of two people experiencing different content, in the same room, with similar electronic media. As I sit here in one room typing on this computer, with my guy in the other room, I assume on his, I think of how well you have captured what the world is coming to. πŸ™‚

  30. August 18, 2012 at 00:26

    I liked this a lot! It’s all about family and everyone needing their own personal space; whether it’s to read a good book, listen to music or watch a soap (I hate soaps!). You need to put up a sign, literally sometimes, or talk ahead of time about respecting each other’s alone time. Being with family, with someone you love is very important, we can’t do without, but we need moments, sometimes hours just to relax and be by ourselves.
    This was a wonderful piece and I really enjoyed reading it. May your day be wonderfully blessed!

    http://elizena-lovingmycreator.blogspot.com/2012/08/the-fairies-did-it.html

  31. March 24, 2011 at 19:07

    Wow..thanks very much for the nomination… I really appreciate it… I’m just glad you liked it, thats enough for me πŸ™‚

  1. March 24, 2011 at 18:50

Leave a Reply

